TEXAS RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS FOR DIVORCE
One of the most common reasons why the divorce papers are rejected by court is the incompliance with current divorce laws in Texas. In order to start any divorce, no matter whether it is a contested or an uncontested one, the couple must meet residency requirements for Texas, which are the following:
- Either a petitioning or a responding spouse has been a resident of a STATE for 6 months and longer
- Either a petitioning or a responding spouse has been a resident of a COUNTY, where the divorce is filed for at least 90 days.
On the assumption that mentioned above requirements are met, the court has jurisdictional rights to proceed with a suit for divorce. Keep in mind, that under state divorce laws you must prove the fact of being a state domiciliary under penalty of perjury, so if you don’t meet the requirements set by Texas divorce laws you should look for alternative options:
- Find out whether your spouse is a state domiciliary for a required period of time and if yes have him or her filed the divorce documents
- Reside within state and county you want to start your process at and use this time to collect the requisite data and forms
- Search out divorce laws of other states and find the place where you could get divorce with smaller efforts